Life is short

Two of my friends died recently. One died at the end of last month and the other died two days ago. I haven’t seen either one of them in over five years because I moved to a different state. I actually found out on Facebook about both of them. Even though I used to hang out with them a lot, I haven’t really kept up with them. I guess we were all busy with our own lives. I have this tendency to get anti social and just disappear for awhile and not keep in touch with anyone.

I wrote on their Facebook pages and told them to rest in peace and that they will be missed. I used to think that writing on your dead friends’ Facebook page is attention whoring, it’s not like they’re going to be logging in from heaven. Hey Jesus, can I borrow your smart phone, I want to check my Facebook. I felt the need to leave a post on their pages anyway. I wanted to be able to say goodbye.

They were both still in their twenties. Both of them overdosed on drugs. I have done drugs with both of them actually. Weed, coke, ecstasy. I heard that they had step it up since I moved away though and moved on to heroin. I have never done heroin – partially because I don’t like needles, and partially because I might enjoy it too much. I wonder if I ever came close to dying. I have done my fair share of drugs – it could have easily be my Facebook page with all those sad I wish you were still here messages.  Life is short. One day you’re here, and next day they find you no longer breathing. I need to do something with my life and stop being such a slacker.

Leave a Reply

